Home > Health > Not Deaf…Yet

Not Deaf…Yet

My left ear has been ringing for over 4 weeks. Into week 2 I finally agreed to go into the doctor (a family practitioner) and he told me exactly what I already though: the ear drum was fine (I could hear fine) and that the hairs in the inner ear were probably damaged (missing?). He said in 2-3 weeks I should go see an audiologist, and today I did. His setup was a lot more elaborate than what they had at school for our yearly exam with the school nurse during our more formidable years.
 
My right ear is pretty bad (didn’t hear about 1/3 the tones I should’ve) but that is from many, many years of percussion with a fellow obnoxious drummer like me to my right all those years (I don’t blame Jake, though – we were both loud). We made a lot of noise doing rim shots on Kevlar heads, steel rims, and oak shells. The audiologist also said a likely cause is all those years of shooting with proper ear protection. Looks like I’ll have to choke back my pride from now on and wear some.
 
The left ear doesn’t seem too bad, though. I missed some tones in the range where tinnitus (ringing) usually hangs around (a little higher than usual, I’m told). I go in for more tests when my family practitioner and the audiologist figure out where to go from here.
Categories: Health
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

