Home > Health > Healthier

Healthier

Back in January I went in for a physical and found that my BMI was high (no shock there), as was my cholesterol and blood pressure. I knew I was out of shape compared to when I was very active in high school with biking, martial arts, carrying heavy drums around fields, etc. My blood pressure was over 130/90, though I don’t remember the exact numbers.
 
Since then I’ve been exercising my gym membership and have noticed an improvement, including getting old muscle mass back. Tracy and I have been eating better, too, though even before my checkup we did cut down on fatty foods and ate more chicken and fish.
 
Wednesday I went in for a checkup and the nurse had to take my blood pressure twice just to make sure she read it right, and she did: 117/78. The doctor joked about taking my picture to put up on the wall as an example that it can be done!
 
I owe a big thanks to my former development manager who inspired me. He got in such great shape that his diabetes isn’t a huge problem anymore. I even stopped drinking soda – at least during the week and limiting intake to 1/day on the weekends. I need to get my caffeine fix somehow.
Categories: Health
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

