Home > Hobbies > New Lens for New View from Office…While it Lasts

New Lens for New View from Office…While it Lasts

After a long time deciding, I decided to buy the Nikon 80-200mm f/2.8 ED AF Zoom-Nikkor lens for my Nikon D70s. It was a tough decision, having to balance quality and price since I don’t (currently) make any money back from my hobby. It’s a superb lens that is built rugged and has a good resale value, which emphasizes its quality.
 
I weighed this against many high-power zoom lenses, including the hard-to-get, do-it-all Nikon 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 ED-IF AF-S VR DX Zoom-Nikkor, the Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor, the Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor, and the Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM lenses. What I wanted most was a lens with a wide-open aperture that allowed me to stop subjects in motion. The Nikon 18-200mm that is still in super-high demand is a good lens, but starts to fall off at 200mm from what I’ve read, plus has a maximum aperture of f/3.5. Not bad in bright- and medium-light conditions, but I love photographing around sunset. I also didn’t mind having a couple of good lenses, and wanted this before our trip.
 
The Sigma faired well in reviews but the Nikons had better resale value and what I got was about the same price as the Sigma. Honestly, I didn’t see a lot of negative feedback, though some compared to the Nikon lenses.
 
I simply couldn’t justify the price of the Nikon 18-200mm VR lens. Besides, VR actually steps down the aperture a couple of stops when in use, and Nikon recommends you turn off VR when mounted on a tripod because the motor will keep running needlessly (not to mention the aperture). At 200mm I’ll certainly be on a tripod if not shooting super fast.
 
The choice between my new 80-200 f/2.8 and the smaller, less-expensive 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 was a tough decision. I didn’t really care so much for the extra 100mm focal length, but the price and size were nice. I don’t really even care about the VR for reasons I’ve previously mentioned. In the end, VR won’t stop a moving subject like a fast shutter speed will; and with such fast shutter speeds I want as open an aperture as I can get. f/2.8 is a couple of stops more open than f/4.5 at a minimum, so my choice was made.
 
It is a good lens and I’m sure I’ll get good use out of it. Maybe even someday I’ll start making a little bit of money back. Probably nothing like my father ever did, photographing weddings and such, but maybe some stock photography. People say I have an eye for framing, and I certainly see so much beauty in nature that I love to share through my eyes (and the lens).
 
Below are a couple of photos I took from around my office, while I still have it. All of Microsoft is cramped for space while we hire more people before more buildings are fully constructed. Compare those photos below with my previous shots from my office.
Categories: Hobbies
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

